Tags

, , , ,

For the past few days, I’ve been mulling over something to which I have rarely given much thought before: my name.  It’s not a beautiful one, I know.  Susan is a bit old-fashioned these days (although there were four of us in my primary school class), and it’s a bit of a kick in the teeth to learn, rather late in life, that my mother named me after the Queen’s favourite corgi, but there it is.  And Grossey, albeit with the advantages of being rare and memorable, is hard to pronounce: it rhymes with bossy, if that helps.  I do have a middle name: Peta.  It was a nod to my father – Peter – and is pronounced just like the male version, and not to rhyme with better.

I may be stuck with all of this in real life, but as an author I have a choice.  I could adopt a nom de plume – but thinking of something suitable and unused is almost as hard as writing the book itself.  So I’ll stick with my own name, but in what format? As I see it, I have a few options, and I’d be very grateful for any comments and/or votes in this poll to help me decide.  I have already published several non-fiction, work-related books as “Susan Grossey”, if that has any bearing on your thoughts.

 

