Tags

, , , ,

It’s here!  After days of phone calls to couriers and the customs clearance house in Hounslow (apparently all packages go through there), I have just taken delivery of the very first copy (well, the proof copy) of “Fatal Forgery”.  It is such a thrill to see it in paper form – albeit with PROOF in big black letters on the final page.  Can I say that it looks better than I expected?  It’s weighty, and the layout template that I chose makes it look most professional and classy.  I honestly don’t think that – apart from the lack of a printed price on the back cover – it looks self-published.

So now the pressure is on:

  1. Do final proofreading and editing.
  2. Upload finalised PDF to CreateSpace.
  3. Allow a day for their systems to check it and say that it is OK.
  4. Meanwhile, reformat the text file to work with the e-book template – this is the great unknown, as the instructions sound beautifully simple but the reality may be different…
  5. When CreateSpace gives the nod to the PDF, order my own paperback (POD) copies.
  6. Upload the e-book version to the Kindle Direct Publishing platform.
  7. Keep everything possible crossed that both versions are available for purchase next Friday – the Grand Launch Date.
  8. Collapse in gibbering heap.
  9. Start to think about next Sam Plank adventure – I scribbled down all sorts of ideas while on holiday.  I rather think Sam might fancy a trip to Switzerland…
