Tags

, , , , , ,

When I first wrote “Fatal Forgery”, it was actually called “A Gentleman and a Fraudster” and was written from the point of view of the banker.  During that writing process, it was overseen by an experienced author who was acting as my writing mentor – and she liked it.  When it failed to find an agent or publisher I put it away for a few months, and when I returned to it, I decided to completely rewrite it from the point of view of the policeman – and change the title.  At this point I allowed my husband to read it – although, as you can all imagine, he has a certain vested interest in being nice to me (the alternative being iron rations in all departments until the end of time).  When I was on the verge of publishing, I decided that I really did need an outside eye on it, and so I contacted a man I knew in Jersey who – like me – has a day job in financial crime prevention, loves the subject, and moreover is a self-published author of historical fiction.  Roy (for it was he – and you can read his tip-top blog here) very kindly read the manuscript and made some excellent suggestions, which I implemented.  I tell you all of this so that you understand that when “Fatal Forgery” was published, it had been read by precisely three people (and me).

So, at the back of my mind as I schlepped around the bookshops, sent out press releases, told all my family and friends, put updates on Facebook and LinkedIn and all my websites, and pinned up advertising posters on railings around Cambridge (yes, really) was: what if it’s no good?  I liked it, of course, but what if I was kidding myself?  What if I’d stopped seeing it objectively?  And so, every day since publication, I have been feverishly checking Amazon for reviews.  And now I have two – and both are five star recommendations.  You can read them here.  I can’t tell you what a relief it is to have someone read it and say “It works”.  And I’m celebrating by starting my research for the next Plank adventure.

