Tags

, , , , , , ,

Some years ago I was watching a documentary about Barbara Cartland (the Pink One), and she was talking about her prolific writing output.  In 1983, for instance, she wrote 23 novels, and on average throughout her career she wrote a book every forty days.  As opposed to one every four years, like this lazy toad…  Anyhoo, there she was, reclining majestically on a pink sofa, and she purred to the interviewer, “The trouble is, darling, that authors forget that writing is a business.”  And so, in homage to Dame Barbara, today I shall concentrate on the business side of writing.

“Fatal Forgery” was published on Friday 12 July, in three formats: paperback and Kindle on Amazon, and plain PDF on Gumroad.  Now I’m not sure how quickly all the sales figures make it through to the author report pages (which I am trying to ration to three checks a day) and the paperback sales have to go through the extra stage of being ordered from CreateSpace, but right now the reported sales since publication stand at this:

  • Paperback via Amazon: 26 copies (at author royalty of £1.27 per copy)
  • Kindle via Amazon: 22 copies (£2.09 royalty per copy)
  • PDF via Gumroad: 0 copies (US$4.27 royalty per copy – as yet theoretical)

I have also sold thirteen copies to local bookshop G David, for which they paid a total of £40 (i.e. £3.08 per copy, but then I did have to buy those copies myself from CreateSpace, at US$7.03 or £4.62 per copy, so that’s a total loss of £20.06).  The six copies at Heffers are on sale-or-return, so no income from those yet.

SO [grabs calculator] this month I have made £58.94 from “Fatal Forgery”.  Perhaps I’ll put the order for the gold-embroidered pink chaise longue on hold for now.

 

