Susan Grossey


Oh, it’s nothing really

Did I mention that it took me four years to write “Fatal Forgery”?  Not full-time, of course, but it did occupy my thoughts for that long.  And for three years and ten months of that time, only my husband knew that I was writing it.  I didn’t tell anyone else because (a) it would be too embarrassing not to finish it, and (b) I didn’t want every conversation with everyone to begin, “So, how’s the book coming along?”.  Now it is finished, but strangely the habit of secrecy seems to have stuck.

Over the weekend I met a couple of friends I hadn’t seen for ages, yet when they asked what I had been up to, did I say (as suggested by all self-publishing guides and gurus), “I’ve written a marvellous book, here it is, and I think it would make an ideal Christmas present for all of your family and friends”?  I did not.  I mumbled, “Oh, nothing much, same as usual,” and it took my lovely, loyal and proud husband to tell them.

But it’s so un-English, isn’t it, to boast about your own achievements?  And when it’s an achievement that sort of requires people to spend their time and money on you, it’s almost paralysing.  Frankly, I’d rather spend a week in the library researching suicide methods in the early 1830s than five minutes soft-selling my book to people.  Any hints on how to elegantly tell people that you have written a book that is now for sale?


Responses

  1. Roy McCarthy Avatar
    Roy McCarthy

    Always carry a copy around. Strategically drop it on the floor and gasp ‘Oh, I’ve dropped my new book on the floor.’ Kerching!
    Depends how bad you want to sell. I’ve found I’ve little interest after publication but still like to be acknowledged as an author.

  2. ihatemoneylaundering Avatar
    ihatemoneylaundering

    An excellent idea, Roy – it’s the old hankie trick! And you’re right about the selling versus recognition thing – I’m most excited of all when a good review appears on Amazon, or when someone tells me that they enjoyed the book. Mind you, sales would be nice too!

Leave a comment