Hurray, hurray – I’ve printed a draft today!  With a final burst of 1,616 words I have completed my first draft of “Plank 3” (still dithering about the name, but becoming quite fond of “Worm in the Blossom”…).  Of course, as all writers know, this is simply the first of several stages, but it’s quite nice to have a folder full of printed sheets that are well on their way to becoming “Worm” (what do you think?).

But as I wrote what I thought was the final incident, I realised that it was lacking my usual ending style – either a twist (as in “Fatal Forgery”) or a continuation (as in “The Man in the Canary Waistcoat”).  I seem to be allergic to neatly tied up endings, and this one was going that way.  But as I munched my mid-morning choccie biccies, it came to me – my new ending.  Of course, it may bite the dust during the editing, but I’m happy with it at the moment.

And as my Big Treat for finishing this draft, tomorrow I get to take it (along with my fierce red pen) to the University Library and sit at my favourite desk on the fifth floor, overlooking King’s Chapel and surrounded by centuries of erudition.  And come elevenses, I may just have to go to the tea room for a cheese scone.  It’s all glamour.

