Tags

, , , ,

So here it is – the cover for “Worm in the Blossom”:

dfw-sg-witb-cover-3d-nologo

I mentioned yesterday that the figure of the girl is a gruesome composite of two other people, and when the cover designer sent me his invoice, it had on it charges for two images: “head of woman” and “body of woman”.  All very Burke and Hare, who incidentally come on the scene in 1828 – just in time for “Plank 5″…

I am delighted with the cover, of course – it wouldn’t be finalised otherwise.  (Although of course the sharp-eyed amongst you will have noticed that this is a front cover only – the back cover cannot be done until I supply the spine width, and that cannot be calculated until I finish the formatted text, which is my task for today, tomorrow and Monday.)  But in the same way as I knew the moment I saw Sam on the cover of “Fatal Forgery” (once we had adjusted his whiskers – the original image had a moustache, which Sam would have thought very rackety) and the villain on the cover of “The Man in the Canary Waistcoat”, I knew when I saw this composite girl that she was the one.  Who is she?  Ah, you’ll just have to read the book to find out!

