Susan Grossey


Sam’s on the shortlist!

What a day!  I have received notification that “Faith, Hope and Trickery” has been shortlisted for the inaugural Selfies Award, which I entered back in December.  It’s one of eight books in the running and the winner will be announced at the London Book Fair on 12 March 2019.  I had already booked my ticket for that day, as I’ve never been to the LBF before (I want to walk around with “Author” on my ID badge), and I wanted to support the Selfies even if I was not personally involved.  But now I will be – great excitement!

Today’s press release  from the awards organiser – BookBrunch – is most flattering.  It says that we shortlist nominees were selected from “exceptional works of self-published fiction” and “can confidently stand against the very best fiction being published in the UK today”.

Looking at the shortlist, we’re all women.  Two books are pure crime and two are historical (mine included).  Bizarrely, one is about money laundering and one is about cycling (written by a woman who lives in Cambridge) – and neither of those is mine!  That prize ceremony is going to be an interesting gathering…


Responses

  1. Victoria Blake Avatar
    Victoria Blake

    Absolutely brilliant news. Well done!

    1. ihatemoneylaundering Avatar
      ihatemoneylaundering

      Thank you, Vicky – I am walking on air!

  2. Helen Hollick Avatar
    Helen Hollick

    Brilliant! Will share on our Discovering Diamonds weekend feature: Browsing the Blogs! (it’ll appear 9th Feb)

    1. ihatemoneylaundering Avatar
      ihatemoneylaundering

      That would be marvellous, Helen – thank you! We indies have to squeeze every last drop of promo value out of everything that happens!

  3. Graham Thomas Avatar
    Graham Thomas

    Dear Susan

    Many congratulations from me too.

    Such an astonishing coincidence for the combination of money laundering, cycling and Cambridge to feature in the short list. I’m going to regard that as a good omen for you!

    Graham

    1. ihatemoneylaundering Avatar
      ihatemoneylaundering

      You may well be right about that omen, Graham – let’s hope so! And I think I’ve found my Thomas Burling… but you’ll have to wait until October to learn more.
      Best wishes from Susan

  4. Self-publishing makes you smile – proof! | Susan Grossey

    […] to the award.  As regular readers will know, I was – amazingly and thrillingly – chosen as one of eight shortlisted entrants for the inaugural Selfies Award, created to recognise writing and publishing professionalism in the self-published world.  I am […]

Leave a comment