Susan Grossey


A sense of entitlement

I have had four days off writing, while I visited some friends, and now I am back, refreshed of mind and raring to go.  While I was away, I couldn’t do any actual writing, but I did use some long train journeys to consider the subject of a title for the book.  It’s a very important part of the book’s appeal, of course, and – looking in particular at self-published books – there are some shockers out there.  I am trying to hit on something memorable, pithy, intriguing and clever – much like my good self, as my granddad would have said.

I have narrowed it down to a short-list – although something else could occur at any time – and thought I might run them past you for any initial reactions.  I can’t give away too much of the plot (not least because some of it has yet to be decided…) but in short it’s about Constable Samuel Plank and his interest in the development of financial crime, particularly fraud, in London in 1825.  So in the (current) running we have:

  • A Fool and His Money
  • In the Footsteps of Fools
  • Swells and Speculators [“swell” is Regency slang for “wide boy” or conman]
  • The Man in the Canary Waistcoat [a particular gang of London swells wore fancy yellow waistcoats]
  • Canaries, Pigeons and Gulls [more Regency slang, for wide boys, targets and victims]

What do you think?  Please vote!  Whichever I go for, there will also be the subtitle “A Sam Plank mystery” – trying to build the brand, you see.

 


Responses

  1. Time travel | Susan Grossey

    […] 2”, as people seem to suggest that “Plank 2” is actually not terribly suitable.  I wrote a blog post about the current options a few days ago – please do […]

  2. Now the hard work really begins | Susan Grossey

    […] 2″ (still awaiting a more attractive title – please help me decide by casting your vote here).  The final full-stop went in at 12h14 (that’s how the Swiss write their times, and they […]

  3. Getting away with it – but no longer | I hate money laundering Avatar
    Getting away with it – but no longer | I hate money laundering

    […] the new novel – I’m running a little poll on my writing blog, so if you’ve a mind to, please take a look and cast your vote.)  I don’t want to give anything away about the plot, but one element of it is the forfeiture of […]

  4. Big Edit Day 1 | Susan Grossey

    […] having left the first draft of “Plank 2″ [which reminds me: I wonder how the title poll is going?] to fester for a fortnight, today I finally allowed myself to start editing it.  I hid […]

  5. Big phew! | Susan Grossey

    […] ever, my mind returns to the conundrum of a title.  Looking at the results of my poll here, I see that “The Man in the Canary Waistcoat” is the current favourite.  My blessed […]

  6. Be careful what you wish for | Susan Grossey

    […] plot and why each title might work, and then leave it to the vote.  You can see how it worked in 2014 and in 2015 – and of course I will be calling on you again in about July this year.  (The title […]

Leave a comment