Tags

, , , , , , ,

Just a quick mid-week update for you, by way of encouragement.  We self-published authors need plenty of that!  One of our main hurdles is not so much writing the book as publicising it, and without the might of a professional publishing house behind us, we have to grab every opportunity we can to get the word out there.  I am a magistrate, and every quarter all magistrates are sent an e-newsletter called “Benchmark”.  Last time round, I spotted that “Benchmark” – alongside all the legal updates – always has a little story about a magistrate’s life outside the bench, so I contacted the editor and asked if he would be interested in hearing about how, in my day job, I earn money from crime.  I thought the little joke might amuse…  Well, it didn’t offend, and he said yes – and on 2 March a few paragraphs about me and in particular about my crime novels appeared in “Benchmark”, along with a lovely image of the cover of “Fatal Forgery” and a link to the purchase page of my website.

So did it work?  I have checked my sales figures for the day on which “Benchmark” appeared and the following day, and I can report that I sold six copies of “Fatal Forgery” (one paperback, five Kindle), three of “The Man in the Canary Waistcoat” (one paperback, two Kindle) and two of “Worm in the Blossom” (one of each).  This is a significant increase on normal sales, so I think that little article has been a great success.  Sadly for editors around the country, this means that I will be pestering more of them.  Other promotional activities coming up soon: the Alderney Literary Festival, and a talk to the local Rotary Club.

